Twilight Four Miler

I completed the Potomac River Running Company’s Twilight Four Miler in 37:26. Officially, I was 337th out of 529 men. Not as well as I hoped, but more importantly, I maintained my heart rate and a steady pace. My goal was 9 minute miles, I ran 9:13. I consider the race a success because my heart rate remained below 170 and I was able to muster up some energy at the end to finish strong. You can see my run on Pronater.

55077-063-036f

The most satisfying part of the race was the free burritos from Moe’s at the finish line. For the last .5 miles, I had burrito on the brain. Maybe that was the encouragement to muster the energy at the end?

I was handed an envelope as I crossed the finish line. Inside was a gift certificate for a free pair of Mizuno shoes. I was randomly picked for an envelope and  won 1 of 2 certificates for the shoes. I picked up a $150 free pair of Mizuno Wave Nirvana shoes. They feel great. I’ll give them a good workout. After 3 pairs of  Brooks Adrenaline GTS, I’m hesitant to change, but this is a great opportunity to try something new. Thanks Mizuno.

The Twilight Four Miler was well organized, gave us nice orange dry fit shirts and fed us burritos at the finish line. Everything you need for a great race.  I’m looking forward to participating in the race next year.

Leave a Reply

