Cascades 10k

I completed the Cascades 10k on May 23, 2009 with a time of 58:19 pacing at 9:16/mile and finishing 248 out of 330 men. With all the marathon training and the long distance runs on the weekends, I expected the 6.3 miles to be a breeze.  However, this was the first race since starting my marathon training and the adrenaline got the best of me. I knew better then to run with the pack, but did it despite my plan, happily running on a 8 minute mile pace – faster then I ever train. By the halfway mark, my body naturally slowed down and my average ended up near my target pace. I’m going to do a few more races this summer as practice for the big one in October.

The Cascades 10k is a well organized race. Its a charity run for the Sterling Fire Department. The course is managed by firemen. The unique feature of the race is the fire hose to cool you down. You run through it twice and its a welcome relief from the heat. It cools you down before the long hill leading to the finish.

At the end of the race, Outback Steakhouse was serving steak and eggs. The long line was encouragement to finish the race faster next year. The quicker you return the easier it will be to get steak and eggs.  Both the fire hose and steak make this a unique race that I’ll be doing again next year. Hopefully, reaching that 8 minute mile pace.

I tracked my race on Pronater

Leave a Reply

